There are 2 life cycles in every plant: the gametophyte and the sporophyte. The sporophyte is the diploid 2N portion of the plant’s life cycle. For the angiosperm pictured the sporophyte is the dominant stage, but this isn’t the same for all plants. In the mosses the sporophyte is not the dominant stage, but for every other plant group the sporophyte is dominant. The saprophyte will always grow up regardless of whether it is dominant or not.


Leave a comment

by | August 9, 2012 · 10:53 pm

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s