The Hot Zone Part Three Impression

What did you think about the reading?

I feel that in this part USAMIID and the entire science community performed the most action than in the previous two parts. In this part the operation will begin and the scientists are transforming the Reston monkey house into a Level 4 Biosafety area for more detailed investigation. I found it interesting how the volunteers and workers have to wake up early in the morning to deal with the dangers of the new disease. It was thrilling to find out that the Reston monkey house overlooked a school of children. I was impressed by the unity of the team of workers at the monkey house. It is interesting to understand the experiences that the workers had to go through, such as Jerry Jaax. This part focused on introducing all of the major people that will be cooperating together to kill the virus. At first I thought that it would be easy to kill the virus by spreading a bunch of Level 4 killing chemicals, but unfortunately it wasn’t that simple. I kind of felt bad when I found out that Nancy’s mother died, but then I remembered that this is all fake so I continued reading casually.

What did you learn?

I learned a lot about how different agencies and corporations handle and combat different pathogens. I also learned about the difficulty of identifying a pathogen, since the entire process seems pretty dangerous.

What questions do you still have?

I do not quite understand how Johnson’s equipment, which he took with him to the Kitmun Cave, was not compromised since it has been in contact with the virus.

Overall this book is just getting better and better.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

